Snapchat is an instant messaging app popular with youngsters that allows users to send pictures and videos that are only viewable for short periods.

But while hundreds of millions of daily active users consume and create content with Snapchat, not everyone is pleased with the mobile app.

One of the most significant concerns with Snapchat is that a recipient can record snaps without a creator’s knowledge or consent. And although Snapchat does notify a sender when a recipient takes a screenshot or records a video through proprietary software, some apps allow recipients to circumvent these checks.

If you no longer want to keep your Snapchat account, you can choose to delete it.

How to deactivate your Snapchat account

You may want to deactivate your Snapchat if you just want a break from the app. Currently, there’s no direct way to disable your account temporarily. The only way to deactivate Snapchat is to delete it.

After you delete your Snapchat, the platform gives you 30 days to change your mind before deleting your account permanently. So, to temporarily deactivate your Snapchat, you could cancel the deletion process before the 30-day period ends.

What happens if you delete your Snapchat account?

The instant you complete the Snapchat deletion process, an invisible 30-day timer starts. You now have just over four weeks to change your mind. After 30 days, Snapchat deletes the following data from its database:

  • Account
  • Account settings
  • Friends
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • Device data
  • Location data

According to Snapchat, some of your personal information may remain in the database for “certain legal, security and business needs.”

How to reactivate your Snapchat account

Reactivating your Snapchat account is pretty simple as long as you are still within the 30-day deletion window. Start your Snapchat app and log back in with your credentials. It may take up to 24 hours to reactivate your account.

How to download your Snapchat data

Your Snapchat data carries your login history, account information, profiles, snap and chat history, memories, friends, search history, Bitmoji, and more. You can download your Snapchat data before you delete your account to preserve the information.

  1. Go to accounts.snapchat.com
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Click My Data and then click Submit Request.
  4. You’ll receive a download link to your verified Snapchat email address.
  5. Use the link to download your data.

How to delete your Snapchat account

  1. Go to accounts.snapchat.com
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Scroll down until you see Delete My Account on the Manage My Account page.
  4. Click Delete My Account.
  5. Enter your username and password to confirm.
  6. Click Continue to start the process.
  7. Don’t log into the app again.
  8. Your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently in 30 days.

Can you reactivate your Snapchat account after 30 days?

You won’t be able to log back into your account 30 days after starting the deletion process. However, you can create a new Snapchat account after your old one has expired.

How to protect yourself on social media

Maybe deleting Snapchat is one step too far for you at the moment. If that’s the case, there are steps you can take to help protect yourself while using Snapchat, and any other social media platforms.

Follow our selfie security measures to help prevent your sensitive media from getting into an abuser’s hands. Also avoid these six social media safety sins to help stay secure.

Setting a strong password is also advisable, and make sure each online account you have has a different password. Familiarise yourself with phishing attempts on mobile phones, to lessen the likelihood of you falling for a scam. Lastly, use security for your Android or iOS device to protect against stalkerware and online stalking incidents.