Blurry previews and Facebook phishing

Here’s a Facebook phish which uses the incredibly old technique of blurring the supposed page underneath the login prompt. This is supposed to tantalise victims with what they could see if only they hand over login details. This tactic has been around from Facebook and Tumblr all the way back to Myspace, most typically in the form of the infamous “See who visited your page” type scams of yesteryear.

Read more

Soldiering on: the $5.6 million 419 scam

419 scams most commonly drop into your mailbox, but they do occasionally appear via other channels such as snail mail and social media. Today we’re going to take a look at an angle seemingly beloved of scammers everywhere – a specific character type clung to down the years for no other reason than to cheat people out of their money.

Read more

Scammers sneak into customer support conversations on Twitter

We’ve looked at the social engineering tactic of inserting a fake account into a conversation with legitimate support channels in the past, and today – thanks to Techhelplist – we can observe another one, this time going after Natwest bank logins. See how Twitter scammers are trying to steer potential victims away from legitimate support channels to phishing websites.

Read more

Google’s featured snippets abused by SEO scammers

Online crooks are abusing Google’s featured snippets via compromised websites that redirect to bogus online stores. Because of their prominent placement, Blackhat SEO miscreants are extremely interested in featured snippets as they can capture a large amount of traffic and redirect it to any site of their choosing.

Read more

Avoid this “Authorize your Twitter account” phishing scam

Scammers send a well known verified account a “Please authorize this app to become verified” message. Confusion follows.

Read more

Select your language